Birthdays

surprise-happy-birthday-gifts-5
Picture taken from PlusQuotes

My sister is having a birthday this month.Which got me thinking about birthdays in general.

When I am doing character development, I hardly ever give my characters a birthday, which is odd. So many things revolve around our birthdays like which year we start schooling, if our birthday parties were more outdoors like swimming or winter activities like skating. My sister almost always had her birthday out of school because of spring break, but I almost always had finals on my birthday because it is the last week in April. I have a friend whose birthday is two days after Christmas and she always felt like her family never celebrated her birthday. She always said people gave her whatever Christmas gift they didn’t want because it was free and easier than standing in the return line.

Anyway, on that thought, I’ve decided next set of characters I work on creating will have specific birth dates, not just a decade or year, but a specific date. I think that could create some interesting character traits.

 

Leave a Reply

