Current Book – 90 days to Your Novel

Ok. I say I live in fantasy and that I am an aspiring writer. Then my blog is full of craft projects. Time for that to change. I started reading a new craft book. It’s 90 Days to Your Novel by Sarah Domet. (Click the picture for the Writer’s Digest page about this book.)

 

The first section is about outlining. Ms. Domet emphasizes the importance of outlines but says there is no single perfect outline.

So I’m thinking about outlining. I’ve tried multiple outlines and non-outlines. One of my early completed “novels” was one I wrote based on a character sketch I loved. It had no plot and little conflict.

So I outlined my next “novel” with my sister. While shopping for vacation clothes, we roamed through the stores creating the plot. Other shoppers steered clear, and the folks at Qdoba happily cleared our table the second we finished eating.

I attempted to outline my next “novel” by using the outlining suggested by Jim Butcher on his LiveJournal.  Thank you Butcher, but it wasn’t for me.

So on to the next, The Snowflake Method. (Assume images are clickable with links to the correct webpage. :))

 

I thought I did ok with the snowflake method. My critics did not agree.  *sigh*

One of my critics suggested sticking to the 3 Act or 4 Act structure. No problem. I tried it. It’s as comfortable as wearing blue jeans inside a pair of sweat pants.

Then, I found Dan Well’s 7 point plot structure. This makes a lot of sense to me. Oh yeah, here’s a pic.

Ms. Domet says outlines don’t fit each person. If it’s true, I’m not sure I’ve found my perfect fit. Her suggestions include using notecards, flow charts, standard outlines, and spreadsheets.

No matter the outlining method, I am a spreadsheet user.

Care to share your outlining development or the method that works for you?

One thought on “Current Book – 90 days to Your Novel”

  1. I tried the snowflake method, but I stalled out when it came to writing it out scene by scene. That said, I think it has a lot of good upfront methods for building out characters and plot, like figuring out character motivations vs. goals before you get too deep in. Like you I’m still working on a method that really works for me… but, I guess it’s all trial and error process, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

